RETROSPECTIVE RECORD · PREPARED 16 SEPTEMBER 2026The almanac archive · 100 retrospective records ↗

The almanac archive / Safety & recalls

Safety & recalls / From the almanac · 13 June 2007 event · prepared 16 September 2026

A 2007 lead-paint recall covered specific Thomas trains

RC2's 2007 recall notice names the lead-paint hazard and models behind one of that year's biggest toy recalls.

Visual for this record: A 2007 lead-paint recall covered specific Thomas trains
Visual published by picclickimg.com, shown for identification of the record. Credit: picclickimg.com · source page ↗ Rights: owner-review-pending.

The play

Thomas & Friends Wooden Railway toys are painted wooden trains, track pieces, and buildings designed for young children to push and connect by hand. RC2 Corporation, based in Oak Brook, Illinois, made the line under license and manufactured the recalled pieces in China. On 13 June 2007, CPSC announced a recall of about 1.5 million units across named engines, cars, and set pieces, according to the agency's own recall notice, part of a wave of China-manufactured toy recalls that year.

What the evidence says

The recall notice states that surface paints on the recalled products contain lead, which is toxic if ingested by young children and can cause adverse health effects, and it lists specific products by name, with manufacturing codes identifying which units are and are not included. It does not state a measured lead level or a count of reported injuries. The federal lead-paint regulation in force at the time, 16 CFR part 1303, capped lead in paint on consumer products at 0.06 percent by weight, a limit the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act later lowered to 0.009 percent effective 14 August 2009, after this recall. RC2's notice offered a free replacement toy as the remedy.

Age fit and safety

The hazard described is lead exposure from surface paint, relevant because young children mouth toys during play; it is a different mechanism than the small-parts choking scope that also governs toys for children under three, and the notice does not state that the affected trains presented a choking hazard. The recall covers specific named models identified by manufacturing code, not the Wooden Railway line as a whole, and a later, unrelated 2023 recall of different Wooden Railway pieces for a different hazard should not be conflated with this one.

What to look for

This is editorial guidance, not a judgment about wooden toys or China-manufactured toys broadly; the recall notice covers one manufacturer's specific product codes from a specific period. For any older or secondhand wooden toy, checking the underside or battery cover for a manufacturing code against a recall listing is a concrete step the notice's own identification method supports. Chipped or worn paint on an older wooden toy is worth a closer look regardless of brand, since a toy's paint condition can change well after any original certification.

  • Does an older or secondhand wooden toy's manufacturing code match any recalled model listed by CPSC?
  • Is the surface paint on a hand-me-down wooden toy chipped, peeling, or otherwise degraded?
  • Would a caregiver stop use and check a recall listing before continuing to let a child mouth an older painted toy?

The 2007 recall names specific products and a specific hazard mechanism, and treating it as evidence about one manufacturer's affected codes, rather than about wooden toys or a country of manufacture in general, keeps the claim inside what the notice supports.

Sources & reading trail

RC2 Corp. Recalls Various Thomas & Friends Wooden Railway Toys Due to Lead Poisoning Hazard ↗

CPSC's recall notice states the affected models, the surface-paint lead hazard, the roughly 1.5 million units involved, China as the manufacturing country, and the replacement remedy.

Source published: 13 June 2007 · Retrieved: 16 September 2026

16 CFR Part 1303 - Ban of Lead-Containing Paint and Certain Consumer Products Bearing Lead-Containing Paint ↗

The regulation text states the federal lead-paint limit in effect at the time of the recall was 0.06 percent by weight, later reduced to 0.009 percent under the 2008 Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act.

Source published: Not established · Retrieved: 16 September 2026

Standards, recall notices, studies and records establish the entry; the what-to-look-for reading is Toy Almanac editorial analysis. This retrospective draft does not imply the site published on the event date.